Photo Essay: Burma

To be honest, I wasn’t sure of what to expect of this trip. As usual I trolled the net, trip adviser etc. A common theme I found that were many articles and books were actually outdated in terms of the overall perception of the place. As always, high up on the list was satisfying my photography appetite in a new and foreign place. Having lived abroad away from Asia for a few years I knew that this would e an exciting opportunity see something completely different and I wasn’t let down.
 
It’s difficult to try and capture the best of a city at any time, let alone a traveller there for a few days only. I always feel it takes a while to settle in, get your barrings until the juices start to flow. What I found from my trip and what was evident in my pics was that there were not that many sites in terms of your standard tourist attraction destination. But what they had in abundance was a natural and sincere friendliness and openness not present in many modern day societies which many of us live in. 
L1001755-12 L1001933-Edit-7 L1001945-Edit-8 L1001745-Edit-6 L1001711-Edit-6 L1001516-Edit-Edit-5 L1001690-2 L1001696-3 L1001668-1 Yangon portraits L1001269-Edit-1
Although these virtues were not apparently obvious to me at the time, I do feel that subconsciously it played some part in swaying the images captured. Looking back an extremely high proportion of portraits were taken. Significantly more. As I have travelled more I have tried recently to have a more local feel to my photos instead of the blatent tourist shots and looking back, what better way is there to capture the essence of a city than through its people.  The images were taken with my Leica X Vario & M-E. I hope you enjoyed them.
Thanks L.
Leave a Reply

